Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with 4 month old nursing change

Default Help with 4 month old nursing change

Hello. This is my first time posting. I am in need of some help or advice about my 4 month old. So far, our nursing relationship has been great. My 4 month old has always nursed for about 20 min on each side, every two hours during the day and every 4 hours at night.

Starting about 2 weeks ago, she has been not wanting to go longer than 5 min sometimes and refusing to nurse longer. She just pulls away and smiles. If I try and offer her again she fusses. I am now nursing her every 3 hours in hope of her being more hungry and nursing longer. Sometimes it works sometimes it does not and she will nurse on one side for 20 min and only a few sucks on the other side. I do not believe she is full because I know I do not make enough from one side for her to be full. She eats 6-7 times a day.

This is my second child and I do believe I have a mild case of IGT as I was never able to produce more than 9 oz per day with my first child. We did not have a great nursing relationship and I wanted it to be better with my second child. I am able to produce more this time around and am taking Domperidone to help. I have not pumped a full day since I am just trying only to nurse, but the times I have pumped overnight if she did not wake up I have got 5 oz in just one session, and her weight gain at her last appointment was good, so I do believe I am at least making 20 oz per day this time. If I try and supplement her with pumped milk from a bottle, she won't drink it. That is another issue. She rarely will take a bottle from me or my husband. I am always worried if she is getting enough so I try and give her a bottle a few times a day just in case she wants more but she won't drink it. I do not offer her an extra bottle much anymore since her change in nursing behavior of only wanting to nurse for less than 5 min.