Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Concerned This isn't working

Default Concerned This isn't working

Hello! This is my first time posting, my son turned a month old yesterday. I have been brestfeeding him on demand. At his two week check up he had gained back his birth weight. The last 3 nights he has been up every 1-2 hours to nurse. He is gulping when he nurses, even choking at times. But he has also started to spit up the last two days, something he hasn't been doing. He bascially seems like when he is up all he wants to do is nurse. I have herd that babies clusture feed, but I am just scared that he is not getting enough milk.

When I pump I only get 3-4 oz tops and that is if he hasnt nursed recently and if I give that to him in a bottle he scarfs it like he is starving. But I read somewhere babies cant control the bottle like the breast and that is normal, so I don't know.

What do I do? How much should a baby that age be drinking at a feeding? Should I take him to the doctor and make sure he has gained enough weight? Could he have a dairy algery? Collic? I am just concerned that I am not doing this right.

Default Re: Concerned This isn't working

Hi congrats on new baby and welcome to the forum!

It is so normal to be worried (welcome to motherhood) but from what you describe nothing sounds out of the ordinary. Just to clarify,
    How much is baby pooping? (how many times a day at least the size of a US quarter.) What does poop look like? and
    How many times a day (approximately) does baby nurse?

Some basics: 3-4 ounces is quite a lot for a mother who is also nursing to be producing per pumping per session. Twice the average. Remember this is EXTRA milk because (I assume) your baby is exclusively fed at the breast. Why do you need to be making 4 extra ounces of milk a day? You don’t.