Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Breastfeeding and the flu virus...

Default Breastfeeding and the flu virus...

I work in healthcare, and on Monday was diagnosed with the flu. Type A. I am currently breastfeeding, and pumping while at work. Our 11 week old yesterday woke up with matted eyes, and some coughing. We co-sleep at night some, so I know he has been exposed to the virus. Our pediatrician called in Tamiflu for both of us.

I just wanted to know ehat everyones's thoughts were about nursing while being sick. Also what to watch out for in the baby.

I appreciate any help!

Thanks
    Love my children!!

DTD-Saylee, and Chloee 12/04

DS-Cage 05/10

DS-Taft 10/12

Sweet, smokin' hot hubby! -Moody 07/02

Default Re: Breastfeeding and the flu virus...

Sorry to hear you're both sick, mama . I would hang out with baby in bed, make sure you get plenty of fluids, and make the breast available to baby as much as possible. Tepid baths and tylenol for fever. If his nose is stuffed up, you can try dropping breastmilk in the nose with a dropper, and/or humidifier. Hope you feel better soon!

I just wanted to know ehat everyones's thoughts were about nursing while being sick.
    It's really good if you are breastfeeding when baby or mom is sick. For many reasons-I think these articles cover it pretty well. http://kellymom.com/bf/can-i-breastf.../baby-illness/

http://kellymom.com/bf/can-i-breastf...y/mom-illness/

I am not sure what you mean what to watch out for? Do you mean from the flu or the treatment?

I have to admit I know nothing about Tamiflu at all. I'm am a little surprised it would be prescribed for an infant that young, but like I say, it's just not something I know anything about.

Tamiflu is FDA-approved for infants over 2 weeks old, and CDC recommendations are that children under 2 receive tamiflu for influenza, of course taking into account clinical considerations and parent preference.