Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Maxed out pump settings

Default Maxed out pump settings

Hi there,
    I am a bf mother of a 10 month old. I really want to bf until 12 months at least. When I am at home my little one eats 6Xs during the day plus solids, and she often nurses twice at night. I am a nurse and am working three 12hr shifts in a row. I have run into a problem...when I pump at work (3 times, every 4 hrs, plus a feeding before work and sometimes another when I get home). I have maxed out the pump settings- level 9 of Medela freestyle. I am terrified that I'm not completely emptying and that my supply is going to decrease. There is no stronger level.
    Is there a solution to this? How do I make sure I am emptying completely when my pump is not as strong as my baby? I have a freezer full of milk but don't want to do formula and would love to just transition to cow's milk at a year.
    Thanks!

Default Re: Maxed out pump settings

How much milk do you get in a typical pumping session? Why do you feel this is a problem, is the amount you pump decreasing?

Higher settings don't necessarily mean more milk and pumping too high can actually hurt your production (and hurt physically if you do it too much). 9-10 months is a common time for moms to start seeing a decrease in the amount of milk they are able to pump. You are approaching a year, which is about the time many moms stop pumping during the day. If you've got a big freezer stash and your lo still nurses frequently when you are together, this might not be anything you need to be worrying about.
    “We are not put on earth for ourselves, but are placed here for each other. If you are there always for others, then in time of need, someone will be there for you.”
    --Anonymous

Are you working in a hospital setting, and if so, could you access a hospital-grade pump? If not, could you afford to rent one for a couple of months?