Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Giving up breastfeeding

Default Giving up breastfeeding

Hi, this is my first time on this forum so I'm really sorry if this has been posted before.

I have a nearly 6 month old boy who has been almost completely breastfed with the exception of one bedtime bottle a day. He has always been a laid back happy baby as long as his tummy is full, but suddenly he's become very fussy, waking at night and no longer satisfied by my milk so I started weaning him with a bit of baby rice which he loved but even after that he was still fussy and hungry so stupidly started to give him more bottles and out of shear desperation to make him sleep through the night again and I went cold turkey on breasfeeding and put him completely on 4 bottles a day for the last week. I now totally regret this, as his sleep hasn't improved (although he is happier on bottles) and miss breastfeeding terribly, I'm so tearful and I'm not sure if this is hormone related or not but I just want to breast feed him again. Is it too late to go back? And is it the right thing to go back if he is happier on the bottle?
    Thanks. x

Default Re: Giving up breastfeeding

Oh mama, I hear you. You're exhausted and no one thinks clearly when tired. My LO is 7 months old and though we're still BF'ing, I found that the 6 month point was much harder than I had expected. Yes, she sits up, is mobile, and is less of an in the arms baby. But she's much more vocal about getting what she wants/needs when she wants/needs it.

And, yes, sleep, which was never great, got even worse! What happened? Cognitive leap!

In a 2 week span she cut two teeth, learned how to sit up on her own, and now, can pull herself to standing in the crib. No amount of solids or cereals is going to help her sleep through that. Especially when study after study has affirmed that solids don't improve sleep. It's a tale grandmas and others overly invested in our kid's sleep like to tell.