Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tired of breastfeeding/husband issues

Default Tired of breastfeeding/husband issues

Mommies,

I searched the posts first, but couldn't find any answers (well, I did a quick breeze through - patience is not a strong suit of mine).

I've been EBF-ing for almost 6 months now, and DS is a very active, healthy & ever-growing boy. VERY active, vocal, crawling. One can clearly see why he needs so many calories. We started solids a few weeks ago, and he loves it. To the point, I am tired of breastfeeding. He eats every 1.5-2 hours, and I'm worn out. Yesterday, I decided that enough was enough, and I'm switching to formula. Until I told my husband, that is.

His POV: It's expensive, and this is why I'm not working - to breastfeed. To be on call. Why do I need help when this is all I do? (I'm in school full time as well, btw)

I'm so sick of the self-guilt trips and the outside guilt trips. EBF-ing was a struggle in the beginning, but I persevered through the intense pain, and it was fine. Giving him solids made me realize that, OK, he doesn't have to rely solely on me anymore, and look! He's even happy not nursing.

My husband and I have sort of patched things up, BECAUSE I gave in and said, OK I'll just continue to nurse. But really, isn't this my decision? Besides, Costco sells formula for cheap.

This makes me angry. Even though I'm a SAHM, I'm in school, and stressed out enough with that. Why is he acting like this?

Default Re: Tired of breastfeeding/husband issues