Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Milk dried up?! Crying now. Need help!!!

Default Milk dried up?! Crying now. Need help!!!

My son is 3 months old today and my milk has dried up. I have a history of hypothyroid and I understand that can cause low milk supply to begin with. I've never became engorged throughout nursing but I've always seemed to have enough. I am a nurse so I work 12 hr shifts (night shifts). I've been back to work for 6 weeks now and was able to store up 22 bags of frozen milk in the freezer and would pump at work to replace the bags we used. Now we have 9 bags. I haven't been able to keep up with what we've been using. Then I came to having to only pump 3 times at work instead of 4 because at the end of my shift it gets very hectic. So I go from 1am to 8am before I can pump or feed my son. Then lately I worked on daylight savings so instead of going 7 hrs in between I went 8. Then I slept for 5 and my husband used a bottle while I slept. I was exhausted and needed those 5 solid hours.

I think that was just the perfect snowball effect. It's been 2 days since then and I've noticed a HUGE decrease in supply. I fed my son every 3 hours last night (didn't have to work) and pumped each time after. I barely got an ounce. For the past few feedings my son has become fussy and upset. Probably because there's no milk! I just pumped and I literally got a drop from each side. That's it! I'm so upset and crying now. I've been drinking tons of water, drink mothers milk tea, eat oatmeal...is there anything else I can do?! His diapers haven't been that wet like they usually are and I REALLY don't want to have to use formula. I hate this and am so afraid because I go back to work Thursday, Friday, Saturday. I can't keep up and am so worried. I have been taking my thyroid medication as well so I'm not sure what's going on. I think my work schedule is the culprit. I use the Medela Freestyle pump. Please help!!