Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: How to maintain milk for the long haul?

Default How to maintain milk for the long haul?

Hi there Mama's and friends! Been away for a few days and glad to be back into the forum.Really enjoying these recents posts and discussions. Thanks for the updates and discussions on the "newish" research.That is why I love this resource here at LLLI- it is reliable and informative as well as easily accessible. I was just telling my husband if it werent for this site and The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, I would not be sane! I felt like I was so prepared before I gave birth 6 weeks ago...Took several bf classes, read A LOT, watched a lot, asked a lot, but I wasnt really tapping into the organic essence of what makes nursing successful. Not that I am a pro at this by any means! I am still having days where I feel clueless- I am so thankful for the range of questions and answers on here! My big question now is, 6 weeks in, no pumping anymore (created more probs then not) exclusively bf on demand, co sleeping, how do I know that my milk supply will maintain? I feel silly asking these questions but I am still a little nervous about it. I have been trying to relax over the past few weeks, trying to enjoy this wonderful bonding experience and not worry so much about times, and keeping notes...etc, I was quite neurotic about it. I still feel like the little babe is not nursing long and only takes 1 breast a lot of the time. Actually he has always been a quick little feller from day 1. I want to continue to ebf and just want to ensure my supply is maintained. My breast arent very full feeling now, only in the mornings. I know that is normal according to TWAB. Just wanting to succeed at this! I am so attached to this child and my main priority in liife is to feed and care for him! I dont seem to care about anything else! I I still even set an alarm at night to make sure he doesnt sleep too long. anywhere between 2-5 hours through the night. Im on