Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: New here and have a couple questions!

Default New here and have a couple questions!

Hello everyone!

I am new here to LLL. I am a second-time mommy to my 3 year old son and 7 day old daughter. I am also a second time exclusive pumper. I pumped for my son for 5 months before deciding to switch him to formula. He would just never latch when I tried to breastfeed. I have flat/inverted nipples, so it was a bit difficult. The same thing happened with my new daughter. I am experienced with exclusive pumping so it just was easier for me to go ahead and get out the 'ol pump. I do regret not trying harder with breastfeeding my daughter, as she seemed to be doing somewhat well when I used a nipple shield. But the unknown scared me and my husband and I worried about her not getting enough milk to fullfill our needs. So again, even though EPing is so difficult, it just seems easier for us and works for us.

With my son, I was a great milk producer. Towards the end of my pumping days I was producing up to 9 ounces per breast at each session. I had so much milk I didn't know what to do with it all. I am on my way to doing the same thing this time. At only 7 days PP I am already producing up to 4 ounces per breast per session. I have a several bags of milk in the freezer and in the fridge. Lots of great back up! I am very, very blessed and thankful for my ability to produce plenty of milk for my babies.