Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Clinicals and new baby

Default Clinicals and new baby

Hey! I am new to this and am still pregnant. I am needing some advice because I am very set on breastfeeding once the baby is born, but when the baby is 4 months old I will be having to go back to do clinicals(8 hours a day, 4 days a week). I would prefer not to have to supplement with formula, but I dont know how it is going to work. Any advice for preplanning would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Default Re: Clinicals and new baby

Will you be able to take a few minutes here and there during your clinicals to pump breastmilk? If you can squeeze two to three pumpings in, it really shouldn't be a problem. Pumping only takes 20 minutes or, and even shorter pumping sessions are better than nothing. You'll just need a place to do it, and a breast pump.

You can call me JoMo!

Mom to baby boy Joe, born 5/4/09 and breastfed for more than two and a half years, and baby girl Maggie, born 7/9/12.

Pumping.

There are ladies here who are doctors, nurses, veterinarians, and other medical professionals. We manage to pump often enough to feed our kids and maintain a supply.

You will need a good double electric pump with horns that fit you. Plan to spend anywhere from $150 on up. Or check with your employer; some hospitals and offices provide hospital grade pumps, and all you will need is a kit, unless you plan to pump in the car or at home.

A hands free bra lets you get a lot done while pumping. I did a lot of call backs while pumping.
    Susan
    Mama to my all-natural boys: Ian, 9-4-04, 11.5 lbs; Colton, 11-7-06, 9 lbs, in the water; Logan, 12-8-08, 9 lbs; Gavin, 1-18-11, 9 lbs; and an angel 1-15-06
    18+ months and for Gavin, born with an incomplete cleft lip and incomplete posterior cleft palate
    Sealed for time and eternity, 7-7-93