Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Awake time important?

Default Awake time important?

I'm new to this message board and to being a Mom. Can somebody please tell me what LO means? My daughter is just over 2 weeks old and we've been doing a lot of trial and error when it comes to nursing. She generally eats every 2-3 hours, which I think is okay. However, she only eats about 12-15 minutes at each feeding. Initially I was feeding on both breasts each time, and now I've begun feeding just one breast in hopes of getting her more hind milk. She was spitting up a lot and I thought too much foremilk may be the cause. Anyway, I've read so many books, including Babywise. I know there is a lot of controversy around it and would never put in place a strict schedule, as I realize babies all have different needs. However, I do think it makes sense that some awake time during the day would suggest longer sleep times at night. What are some thoughts on this please. Some days she is awake for a little bit after each day feeding; other days she sleeps constantly -- except when she awake crying in hunger. (I don't always catch the hunger cues in time since she is sleeping in her cradle upstairs.) Also, the last few nights she has been very fussy and wanting to eat about every 1.5 - 2 hours at night. Could this be a growth spurt? Or is she just not getting enough at late evening feedings. I try to give her the other breast if she is still fussy after feeding, but she just purses her lips and won't take it. I assume with this that she is full. So much to learn. Any thoughts would be great. Sorry this post is so long.

Default Re: Awake time important?

Hi and Welcome!! Congratulations on your LO (little one). To start it sounds like you are doing a great job and yep...2 weeks is the perfect time for a growth spurt, this may last anywhere from 2 days to over a week! Not to worry though, things will do back to "normal".