Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: questioning supply for my 9 month old

Default questioning supply for my 9 month old

this is my first time posting, so thank you in advance for your guidance and help and I hope I am doing this correctly...

My daughter is now 9 months old and a great eater, but I am concerned about my supply and keeping up with her. I would like to continue breastfeeding for at least the first year of her life, but lately we both seem frustrated which is super sad to me.

I exclusively breastfeed her 6 x a day and she gets 3 meals of solids. 1 of BF times is an 8 ounce bottle which is after dinner but before bath. She sleeps 12 hours a night.

I have noticed lately that my supply seems low for my daughter - she is grabbing for me every 2 hours when she used to be perfectly fine between feedings.

Here is how I noticed that my supply is low:
    I pump at night for the after supper bottle around 8:30 after I have finished the rest of the dinner/clean up for our family. I have been only producing 4-5 ounces at that session, whereas in the past I have been producing 6 or 6.5. In the morning after I feed her upon waking, I pump 2-3 ounces when I used to pump 4. To make a long story short, I no longer pump enough at night and in the AM to provide the 8 ounce bottle at night when I used to be able to provide that and store 2-3 additional ounces as reserve.

I think I need to start supplementing with formula which saddens me but I don't see any other options. How should I best go about supplementing?

Nurse her every 4 hours and then give her formula for the other 2 feedings? Any advice that you can give me would be much appreciated.

Thank you so much for your time and knowledge!

Default Re: questioning supply for my 9 month ol

Welcome to the forum, and congrats on making it to 9 months of nursing!