Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Wits end!

Default Wits end!

Hi all! My name is Amber and I've been nursing my DS, Max, for almost 18 months now. When he was born I said I would nurse for a year which was an accomplishment because my first son only nursed for a couple of weeks. I struggled for the first 6 months with Max because he was a bear in the hospital (9 pounds and my milk wasn't in, he wasn't happy) and listened to the docs and nurses tell me to formula feed. Which I did with the tube taped to my breast. Then he woke every two hours to nurse for the first 9 months and my DH, family and friends all blamed it on nursing. So a year hit and he was still nursing pretty regularly, now STTN so I said I would do it till 18 months. Even my pedi told me to stop nursing since he can no longer get any nutrition from me. WTF?? So, since he turned a year, he has mainly used nursing as a pacifier. Anytime he is upset, which is often because he is super high needs, he wants to nurse. He throws fits over EVERYTHING (coming in from outside, the dog walking away from him, having to go in the highchair) and his fits are loud, head banging, toy throwing, mommy hitting fits. So I nurse him and he calms down. Well everybody close to me is telling me I'm spoiling him, the nursing is the reason for the temper tantrums. He clings all over me and wants to nurse every single time he's upset. Even if he just nursed 10 minutes before that. Is it time to wean? Should I limit the nursing or just let him use it as his pacifier? DH and I are fighting because he keeps telling me 18 months is near but I just don't think DS is ready. Also would like to add that I'm a nurse and work weekend nights and DH gives him a bottle on those nights. He is a perfect angel with him and everybody else. Gets over his fits easily, distracts himself. So that's why they all think it's the nursing because he only acts so crazy with me. Sorry for the novel!

Default Re: Wits end!