Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Scared, nervous and unsure

Default Scared, nervous and unsure

I am currently 31 weeks and just took my first breastfeeding class. I have an 18 and a 14 year old and bottlefed them from the beginning. My fiance has expressed he wants me to breastfeed this child (this will be an "ours", since he has a 6 year old from a previous and mine are also from a previous). After going to this class, I AM TERRIFIED! I don't know if it's because I've never done it before or if I'm afraid of screwing up and I don't want anyone to know. I don't think I'm afraid of the "public" thing - it's just I don't want him to know more than me at breasfeeding, maybe?
    Does anyone have any tips on getting over this? I know the benefits and agree with all of them - I just can't bring myself to be more comfortable about the situation......

Default Re: Scared, nervous and unsure

Read around here, there is a TON you can learn here. But, I just want to say, He's a man. He can't know more than you at actually doing it.

ETA: Was there anything that you heard in the class that stuck out to you as terrifying? Were you scared before that?

there is a lot to learn when you start learning about breastfeeding, its normal to feel overwhelmed. you don't need to memorize it all, just familiarize yourself and have resources and support.

i love the book the womanly art of breastfeeding (8th edition). if you get that you can read it and relax, its great.

The simple fact that you are already setting up a support network by coming here is awesome, really. I am breastfeeding for the first time and it's definitely not been easy, but I've got an awesome support network in the people around me and through places like these forums. I'd say the number one thing that I've learned is to always ask for help if you hit bumps in the road (and there will very likely be some), don't assume you're alone . Good luck!

Congratulations!