Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: stuck in rut??

Default stuck in rut??

I want to start weaning my LO to whole milk during the day,(tired of pumping) But I still want to nurse her when I'm at home with her. What is to early. She get's 2-3 bottles of ebm while i'm away for 10 hours I know they say not till a year but would a month be to early it is just so hard I work construction but I love to bf what should I do?

Default Re: stuck in rut??

Hi there--

So your LO is 11 mos? While I'm no expert (and the experts tell you to wait until they're 12 mos), I was told my my healthcare provider that a little bit of cow's milk is OK. I introduced cow's milk to my son at 11 mos. He drank about 4-6 ounces of that a day, tops. The thing is that he wasn't really that interested in cow's milk, because it just tastes so much different from BM. By the time I got him to take more than the 4-6 ounces, he was 13 months old.

Good luck, and if I were you, I'd check with your doctor about the cow's milk thing. Ours said it was OK, but yours knows your child better, and may have a different suggestion.

Lisa

I agree with the pp. Check with your doc about the cow's milk. Doc may say its totally ok, or he may say that you should try formula for a couple of months. I know some people may hate me for saying that word (the "F" word)...but in this case, it may be better for LO than cow's milk. I don't think cow's milk is all that horrible, I think the point is that it doesn't have as many nutrients as breastmilk...or even formula for that matter. It may depend on how many solids your 11 mos. old actually eats per day, and whether or not he consumes a wide enough variety to consider it a balanced meal for his particular stage of development.

I can't really imagine how you've managed to pump while being a construction worker for 11 months anyway...Hats off to you...that is Awesome!!!