Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: wondering how this works

Default wondering how this works

my LO is only 10 months old, but i am hoping to bf him as long as i can. we are coming up on the 12 month mark in february (it seems like such a long time away, but i know it comes fast) and i think that he will be getting to the point where he doesn't want to nurse as much. he is already very interested in whatever we are eating, but doesn't eat a lot of solids yet. i work part time as a nurse and have been pumping while at work. i am able to pump every 3 hours (thanks to my awesome coworkers) during a 12 hour shift. right now LO is nursing every 2-3 hours and sttn. he has never been the greatest nurser but i treasure all the time we spend bf. it is really a lot of work to get him settled down to nurse for longer than 5 minutes during the day-- i do a lot of standing and bouncing. he is growing slowly but surely and making enough wets and poopies, but i dont know how interested he is going to be to continue nursing once he gets more mobile and is eating more solid food. i know that all babies are different, but i don't want to have to stress about my supply when that time comes (i tend to overthink things). is nursing a toddler something that has to be consistent or can you just nurse whenever baby wants? would i have to continue pumping at work? tia for your answers... just some things i think about while pumping at work. hope this all makes sense!

Default Re: wondering how this works