Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: 10 days, and no let down

Unhappy 10 days, and no let down

Hello ladies

This is my first time coming to this website. I am sitting here disappointed and feeling pretty down about my current breastfeeding fiasco.

Essentially my new little girl is 10 days old. She was born full term at 8 pounds 2 ounces. she was also born vaginally. It was a slightly longer labour (28 hours), and in the end the doctor had to manually take out my placenta (trying to give the full picture).

I had rather intense edema in my feet until today (wow, I have ankles). I have been producing VERY little milk since the little lady got here. 3 days ago I started pumping (symphony) and started taking Domperidone (I am in Canada). I have also been eating oatmeal and drinking milkmaids tea. The baby is supplemented with formula after every feeding (she had a dehydration scare and the pediatrician said this was essential). I only learned today about the medela suplementing system, and unfortunately have been using bottles. I searched my city and can't seem to find this system yet (one store has it but it is sold out, figures).

I guess my ultimate question is do I have a chance at a normal breastfeeding relationship with my child? Is 10 days out of this world? I have no idea. And my lactation consultant is nice, but really she is more of a cheerleader then a person who has provided me with solid guidance. This is my first child.

Any ideas would be amazing. I had a very healthy pregnancy and am a generally healthy person. I had to take iron prior to having the wee one. Other then that, I really cannot think of anything I am omitting. Absolutely any help would be unbelievably appreciated.

I am pumping with every feeding (2 to 3 hours).

Thank you for your time!

S

Default Re: 10 days, and no let down