Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: When to stop?

Default When to stop?

I have been pumping now for 10 months. My son never latched so I stayed committed to pumping. My milk has decreased and I'm having to do twice as much work to just stay a float with him. When is a good time to stop? And how? Do I quit cold turkey? Oh this is depressing.
    Thank u

Default Re: When to stop?

Def don't quit cold turkey. You risk plugged ducts or mastitis if you do that. The choice of when to stop is entirely up to you. IMO, trying to continue to provide him breastmilk until a year is a good idea. Even if it's not as much as you are providing right now. If you do stop before a year, he will need formula until then. The nutrients are still a necessity for him. Pumping into toddlerhood is a perfectly good choice as well. There are so many benefits to your son if you choose this route. Toddlers need the extra immunities that breastmilk provides when they are getting around and touching everything and meeting new little germ carriers also known as other toddlers.

Another option is to possibly seek out donor milk, if you are comfortable with that idea. Perhaps you could get enough donor milk plus your pumped milk to get you over the year mark. Then you could pump wean and give your baby whole cow's milk. Or you could continue to pump. One option for donor milk is to look up Eats on Feets on Facebook. It's a mother-to-mother milksharing group. I have donated in the past and was very glad to give my excess to a mama who could use it rather than having to toss it away.

Christine
    Baby Girl Born 2/17/10 to her two mommies
    BF from day one. I looked up one day and realized I'm nursing a toddler!

What are you doing to increase your milk? Maybe we can troubleshoot that for you and get your own supply up. Meanwhile, you could fill in the blanks with some formula or donated milk.
    Susan