Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want to stop breastfeeding my toddler!

Default I want to stop breastfeeding my toddler!

Hello,

I have been on-demand breastfeeding my 2 1/2 year old with hopes of self-weaning. I have been doing the don't offer/don't refuse thing for a few months and we were still nursing at naps and bedtime, plus at least once during the night and a few times during the day. I was enjoying that, and still hoping she would self-wean.

Unfortunately two weeks ago I had a beautiful, stillborn daughter and my milk came in for the baby my body thought I had. Well my two year old is in heaven because all of a sudden I am making tons of milk again. Now she wants to nurse day and night, all day, all night and not just for little snacks. I feel like I am nursing a 6 onth old. I am getting so frustrated and tired (physically and emotionally) and breastfeeding is turning into everything I didn't want it to be. I am crabby with my daughter when she wants to nurse, I am refusing her and she keeps asking me why I don't want her to have "boo boosh." I really wanted her to self-wean, but I AM DONE!! Now I have so much guilt because I want her to wean, and I am starting to resent the breastfeeding instead of loving it like I used to. I don't want her to think I all of a sudden don't want her to nurse/cuddle but whenever I try to snuggle with her, she wants to nurse, so I find myself avoiding having her on my lap, reading her books, whatever the nursing triggers might be. I am not sure if I am looking for weaning advice, encouragement to continue nursing or just plain old sympathy but I really would like to hear from other nursing moms. Anybody else have a similar situation.

Thanks,

Default Re: I want to stop breastfeeding my todd