Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I think I'm nearing the end

Default I think I'm nearing the end

I have been reading the posts for weeks but this is my first time to post.

Background info: My daughter is 7 weeks and I have had constant trouble with breastfeeding. I started with a bad latch and waited almost three weeks to get it fixed. I should have gone to see a lactation consultant from the start but thought it was just normal pain for a first time mom. It wasn't until I developed large blisters that I thought something was wrong. At three weeks I went to see a lactation consultant who corrected my latch problem, however things have not really improved. The pain level has decreased but is far from comfortable. I have been back to the lactation consultant twice and have spoken with a second LC and the local LLL but so far no relief.

Currently the blisters are slowly healing but I have constant pain after I nurse. The LC has checked for blanching and vasospasm but has ruled it out. Breastfeeding is something that I really wanted to do but it's to the point now that I don't think I can do it much longer. I thought things would be better by now but so far it doesn't seem like there is any end in sight.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tiffany

Default Re: I think I'm nearing the end

Hi Tiffany, Welcome to the forum! I'm not sure I can offer you any new advice but I can offer you sympathy. It took my daughter 2 months to even latch poorly and then another 2 months to get it right. Stick it out, it does get better and keep in contact with the Lactation Consultant and the LLL group. Good Luck!
    If you obey all the rules, you miss all the fun. - Katharine Hepburn