Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Pumping in EMS

Default Pumping in EMS

Hello all! I will be returning to work next month and wanted to know if anyone had information on how the CA breastfeeding/pumping laws applied to EMS workers. I am a paramedic who works 12 hours shifts on an ambulance without use of stations. Other paramedics who pump have told me they use public bathrooms, hospital bathrooms or just pumped in the back of the ambulance. I know I can make it work but I want to know what the law is. I want to know if I can legally place my unit out of service (unavailable to run a 911 call) to pump. Does my employer still have to provide a non-bathroom facility for me to pump? If anyone can point me in the correct direction or get me in contact with some who and answer my questions, I will be eternally grateful.

Default Re: Pumping in EMS

I actually don't know. You might find more information looking at the laws in your state. Regarding whether or not you can place your unit out of service or not...I don't know. Do you have an HR section? What did fellow paramedics do about that?

If you have friends at the hospital, they might let you use an open room. Although that does not address whether or not your employer must provide such accommodations.

http://www.californiabreastfeeding.org/Laws.html
    Susan
    Mama to my all-natural boys: Ian, 9-4-04, 11.5 lbs; Colton, 11-7-06, 9 lbs, in the water; Logan, 12-8-08, 9 lbs; Gavin, 1-18-11, 9 lbs; and an angel 1-15-06
    18+ months and for Gavin, born with an incomplete cleft lip and incomplete posterior cleft palate
    Sealed for time and eternity, 7-7-93
    Always babywearing, cosleeping and cloth diapering. Living with oppositional defiant disorder and ADHD. Ask me about cloth diapering and sewing your own diapers!

I don't know the laws on that one but I'm thinking that this