Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Storage at work

Default Storage at work

I work in a hospital, I came back to work when my daughter was 3 months old. Since then I have pumped at work and kept my milk in the "breast milk fridge". Yesterday I actually had a few people freaking out that I was putting my milk there and thought it might be against policy and that I should keep my milk in the employee fridge with the food. Isn't that a JACHO violation? What really made me mad was when people, including my educator starting making comments about me still breastfeeding after a year.

Turns out I was doing everything right but I can't believe so many people in the post partum field could be so weird about breastfeeding. I can't help but be angry that I had to defend myself. No one we are not a breastfeeding hospital yet!

Sorry, had to rant

Default Re: Storage at work

Sorry. I don't know what a JACHO violation is, but I keep my milk in the fridge with the employee food. We don't have a breastmilk fridge at my work.

It's really weird that they would think you shouldn't put breastmilk in the breastmilk fridge.
    Tracie

Mommy to
    Lilah 10/08 nursed 25 months
    Beatrix 01/11 nursed 30 months

I keep mine in our little mini fridge, and nobody's said anything. But I work with mostly women and for the Head Start program, so everybody's pretty understanding. When 2 women were nursing and pumping at my husband's office though (an engineering firm with mainly men), I know they were pretty weirded out. I told him to chill and that he should know better.
    Jessie

DH Mike 3/15/03

Riley Patrik 10/30/06

Gavyn Oliver 12/1/10

I don't know what is wrong with putting milk in the breast milk fridge, but I do know that it is perfectly safe and legal to put it in the employee food fridge. After all it is food.