Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any nurses out there?

Default Any nurses out there?

Hi all,
    So I went back to work today after being off for 12 weeks. LO is 11 weeks old. I am a nurse in a Surgical ICU and have been really stressed about going back to work and pumping, and I think today just kind of solidified that. Not that people weren't willing to cover my patient, but I only got to pump twice (in 12 hours) because the third time the rooms were both taken and my "back up room" was locked. Plus I had to scarf down my lunch in 15 min because my manager had informed me that my pumping time should be taking away from my lunch time (and since I'm off the floor for 20 min each time I pump, 3 pumping sessions = 1 hour -- which is how long we get for lunch). Doesn't exactly make relaxing during a pumping session easy...

Does anyone have any suggestions or tips? We nurses don't have normal jobs. We can't pump in our office or between meetings or during our "prep" hour, and we certainly don't have predictable days at work. I just don't know how long I'm going to be able to keep this up. It makes me sad, because I've worked my butt off to get even this far.

Default Re: Any nurses out there?