Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Pumping sessions at work

Question Pumping sessions at work

I just went back to work last week, I tried pumping 3 times between 8 and 4.30 but my workload is quite hectic and I cannot fit in the 3 pumping sessions any longer. I usually nurse my son @6.30am, pump @10am, then 2pm, then nurse again @6pm. I pump for about 15-20mins and get 4-5oz which has been enough for the last 2 days. I can also pump one more time before bed. I am just worried pumping only twice in the day will decrease my supply - or will i be ok? My LO usually takes about 10oz while I am at work. Any advice will be helpful.

Default Re: Pumping sessions at work

How old is your little one? I was mostly pumping twice while I was working (I am a teacher off for the summer) and I was getting enough for him while I was gone. I know some women are more sensitive to less frequent pumping. I would think that two more relaxed pumping sessions would be more productive, however, than three more stressful ones. The only way you can know for sure is to try it.
    I am Erin--happily married to the nerd of my dreams for 15 years
    High School Science Teacher
    Mother to: Thing 1 9/23/01, bf 15 mo, diagnosed with stage 4 neuroblastoma 1/29/02, officially cancer free for ten years in August 2012
    Thing 2 6/6/05, bf 12 mo, obsessed with dynamite
    Glowworm 2/18/11, bf 15 months and counting

I'd see how it goes that way and if you start getting less you might want to try to add another pump in. Is 2pm your lunch?
    Proud mom of 2:
    DD 5/2008 nursed for 3 years and 3 months.
    DS born 8/2011 nursing like a champ

Sorry for the short responses...always, always, always NAK or holding a baby

My LO is 11 weeks.

If you don't have a hands-free bra and a nursing cover, get one. You might be able to work in that third session while typing on the computer, checking e-mail or driving.
    Susan