Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: questions about daycare

Default questions about daycare

I'm a teacher and have been lucky enough to have the summer off. My lo will be 10weeks when I go back to work. I'm very lucky in that her daycare is in my school! That being said I'm so sad and nervous about leaving her. I have a few questions -
    Im worried about being able to pump enough. I'll be able to pump before work, noon, 2, and then after work. Will this be enough? She nurses every hour and half.

What about comfort nursing? I'm worried she will have a hard time not being able to cuddle up and nurse especially if she's tired.

I'm also so worried about missing quality time with her. I would love to stay home but it's just not possible right now.

I'm looking for any advice and support. I'm sure it will be fine...Im just dreading it! Thanks.

Default Re: questions about daycare

Can you go and nurse her instead of pumping at noon and/or 2? I think that will be enough pumping. It's hard mama, but somehow they (and we) survive.
    Tracie

Mommy to
    Lilah 10/08 nursed 25 months
    Beatrix 01/11 nursed 30 months

It's hard to go back to work. Ideally, of course, you will pump as often as your LO nurses. Ideality is not reality, unfortunately. With all three of mine, however, they tended to take bottles less frequently then they would nurse. What I have noticed with my littlest (it might have happened with the others, but it has been a while and the memory dims) is that no matter how recently he has had a bottle, he wants to nurse fairly soon after I get home and then cluster feed throughout the evening. I think some babies just wait for mommy to get back to eat. My second LO ate very little during his first bit at daycare (he was 8 weeks old) but wasn't very fussy and was his usual self. I think he just caught up at home--he was over 18 lbs at 4 months so he definitely wasn't food-deprived.