Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are Sweet Potatoes Gassy?

Default Are Sweet Potatoes Gassy?

I thought they were supposed to be a pretty harmless food- but when mentioning I was going to try giving some to Aaron, a friend said "Sweet potatoes are gassy!" Is this true?? He's had squash so far and I'm not sure what food to have him try next...

Default Re: Are Sweet Potatoes Gassy?

No. I've never heard that before, and IME they have been really easy on the tummy. Have fun with them!

Mama to Adeline Brett, breastfed for 4.5 years (12/14/05) and little Eliza June, new tiny sprite in my arms and still learning the ropes (7/18/10)

Family Blog • If I'm here I'm nursing and typing one handed ... forgive the typos!
    And I'm not a newbie at all ... I'm trying to get my old user ID working from back in the day ... paint-the-moon

Dd loves sweet potatoes! IME the only gassy foods are foods that make you gassy...broccoli, beans, etc, and dd even tolerated those well!

Erin
    Wife to a grizzly
    Mama to my little deer (12/05) my loving bear cub (9/07--), and our little tiger (3/22/10)
    Born by one c-section and 2 amazing VBACs

Miles in 2012: 350.5/900 (Actual Miles Ran: 189)
    Miles in 2011: 708.5 (Actual Miles Ran: 509)
    Miles in 2010: 800.5 (Actual Miles Ran: 620)

January Miles: 37.5/75
    February Miles: 59/75
    March Miles: 42.5/60
    April Miles: 64
    May Miles: 41/70
    June Miles: 59
    July Miles: 39.5

227.5 miles on my new shoes
    338 miles on my old shoes

YES YES YES They have a lot of pectin in them and made Thomas VERY gassy when we tried them for the first time at about 7 months, now 18 months no problem.... Brittan

Oh my gosh, I laughed when I read this....I fed mine sweet potatoes for the first time a while ago and he sounds like a motorboat!!!! LOL No fussiness just lots of audible gas