Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Help for a friend with a 4 day old

Default Help for a friend with a 4 day old

My friend gave birth via induction and emergency c-section at 39 wks on Tuesday. During her pregnancy she expressed a wish to breastfeed and asked for advice and resources. I told her about this forum and several other sites I regularly visit. Today I came home to this message on my facebook.
    "So unfortunately I am no longer breast feeding. We were doing great and then it was like everyday got worse. She came out sucking her fist so she is a good latcher. Then she wouldn't feed without dozing off it got so bad to where she wasn't even getting dirty diapers "

I told her to start pumping and feeding expressed milk after each attempt at feeding from the breast. If anyone can recommend a good SNS that would be great as i have no experience with them myself. Also if you have any other advice I could pass along it would be greatly appreciated. I really dislike seeing this new mama give up this quickly. I am assuming that her doctors are pressuring her.
    J- Mommy to MJ 5/9/09 for 2 mo until 9mos
    DD 4/23/11 with lots more support and success
    Wife to Dev 4/20/11

Default Re: Help for a friend with a 4 day old

you're a good friend!

i actually don't know that i would suggest the pumping/bottle feeding BEFORE i would suggest trying several things to keep sleepy baby awake to nurse. newborns dozing off at the boob = SUPER common. in fact, i would venture to say that the majority of us here have experienced it to some degree. to get baby to wake up more for feedings, she can try:

undressing baby/changing the diaper
    play some lively music (some upbeat jazz, perhaps?)
    tickling feet/tickling up and down legs, back, etc
    switch sides
    football hold (less "snuggly", not as conducive to sleep)