Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: How will I continue to BF after 1 year?

Default How will I continue to BF after 1 year?

Hey ladies

My DS is only 9 months but I'm trying to think ahead since I foresee a problem.

I go back to work when he is 1 year old. Literally the day after his 1st birthday. I work 2 day 12 hour shifts, 2 night 12 hour shifts, then I'm off for 5 days. I've used some of my vacation for when I go back so I dont work my last night until December. So I work 2 days, 1 night then 6 off until December 15th.

My question is how do I continue to BF? During the day I'm sure DH can bring DS to my work to BF at lunch time, maybe at supper too (my shifts are 7-7) but I work as an RN on a busy surgical floor and I cannot see getting away more than once/twice a shift to BF him and probably will not have time to pump...unless I dont want to eat, which of course I do!!

For night shifts, I should be able to pump since they tend to be a little less hectic.

My fear is that so far DS hates bottles and will not take them. Plus he has reflux and spits up alot. I'm worried that with this decrease in breastfeeding he will just eat less and end up losing weight!!!! I fear uping his solids as well since he tends to spit them up worse than just breast milk.

Do you think if I breastfeed before work around 6am, then lunch 12noon, supper 5pm, then when I get home around 8pm and through the night on demand, it will be enough?? He usually only eats once through the night but I'm sure that could change at any moment.

Also how will nights work? I'm afraid he wont take a bottle for DH!!

I wish I could just be a SAHM!!!!!!!!
    DS 10/09/10 7lbs 11 oz

Default Re: How will I continue to BF after 1 year?