Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: home for the summer, continue bottles?

Default home for the summer, continue bottles?

Hi everyone! I am a teacher and home for the summer with my 4mo ds. He reversed cycled for a week when I went back to work, but then was taking bottles with ebm fine. Should I continue to have someone give him an occasional bottle while I am home for July and August? I absolutely HATE missing nursing sessions and try to avoid the bottle as much as possible. Do you think I can get away with a 2month bottle reprieve?

Default Re: home for the summer, continue bottles?

I would have your partner give him at least one bottle a day. But I struggled to get my daughter to take a bottle...

Christine
    Baby Girl Born 2/17/10 to her two mommies
    BF from day one. I looked up one day and realized I'm nursing a toddler!

My sister is also a teacher. She did express milk during the summer and she stored alot of it . She also did have her mother-in-law or her husband give an occasional bottle while she was getting her hair done or shopping. she gave a bottle about 3 times a week during the summer.
    DD#1 July 1986 VB
    DD#2 April 1988 c/sec
    DS#3 April 1990 VBAC
    DS#4 June 1993 VB
    and suprise!
    DD#5 April 2001 c/sec
    BTDT scars and stretchmarks,: wrinkles and grey hair

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*yoginimama View Post
    I would have your partner give him at least one bottle a day. But I struggled to get my daughter to take a bottle...
    This exactly.

Mama to my little Diva: Miss K (7/15/06)
    And her little sister: Lulu Pie (3/21/09)

"Don't toush da mango"
    One-handed typer Extraordinaire!
    My body creates, houses, nurtures and nourishes life. That is awesome.
    Kegel Kop says: TIGHTEN UP!

I'd probably space it out and see that she's still okay taking it. If she's okay, space them longer, if she's starts to have issues, shorten the duration between.