Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: BF Twins - milk supply getting bit low

Default BF Twins - milk supply getting bit low

Hi There,

I have 3 months old twins that I have been breastfeeding for the past 2 months (they were born prematurely and I was pumping until they got old enough to latch).

I am noticing that my milk supply has started getting low during the day. In the morning I have so much milk but around 3-4pm it goes very low, which is worrying me a lot. I am now giving a few bottles of formula to make sure that they don't go hungry.

Since starting BF I have been either BF around the clock or recently (due to being very tired) skipped one feeding at night when my husband gives a bottle of my pumped milk. At that feeding time I still get up to pump my breasts and go right back to bed.

I take fenugrek and blessed thistle but it doesnt seem to help.

Does anyone have similar problems that they have overcome? Should I skip pumping at night and get a 4-5 hr continuous sleep? Should I pump every time I have fed a baby to force the breast to make more milk? The twins currently nurse every 2-4 hrs and are not on a schedule, though they have been nursing a bit more frequently in the past days due to lower supply.

Any help is very appreciated.

Anne

Default Re: BF Twins - milk supply getting bit low

Welcome and congratulations on the babies!

Can you tell us how you know your supply is low? A lot of times new moms mistake normal adjustments in supply for low supply. The following are not signs of low supply:
    - increased nursing frequency
    - babies suddenly nursing for shorter or longer time periods
    - reduced feelings of fullness or engorgement
    - reduced or absent leaking
    - breasts suddenly feeling soft or flat all the time
    - babies who were sleeping through suddenly night waking again
    -increased fussinesz