Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pump more and get less??

Post Pump more and get less??

Tell me how this makes sense.

DD is almost 7 months old. I've been pumping at work now for 4 months (3x/day, about 20-30 minutes each time). I've always pumped just what she needed for the next day, and used to get all of it while I was at work so that I never had to take the pump home. That was about 10-12oz.

The last few weeks, DD has been drinking more (about 14oz) with the nanny because her digestion is functioning better since I started my elimination diet. She's more comfortable eating more. So I need to pump more. I wasn't pumping enough just at work, so I started bringing the pump home, which I HATE. I take public transit and walk to/from the train, and I pick DD up after work, so I have to carry her, her diaper bag, my purse/bag with all my milk in it and a pump. And walk and get us on/off the train during rush hour.

Also I have a hard time, mentally, pumping at home. When I pump at home I hardly get anything. I've tried pumping at night. I've tried pumping first thing in the morning. I seriously get about an ounce every time, which is low for me since I still have oversupply. Also DD nurses very frequently when we're at home - like every hour - and I can't find the time to pump at home when I have to nurse her that often and still eat and shower and get ready for work. I end up all and

So anyway. Since I started pumping at home over a week ago (I try to do it once in the evening and once when I first wake up), I have found I get LESS when I pump at work. I thought that after a few days my supply would increase from extra pumping, but now when I'm at work I'm barely pumping 9 or 10 ounces total and I used to get 12 ounces without even trying.