Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Is this normal?

Default Is this normal?

My DD is almost 6 months old. I'm new to this BF thing as I had to FF babies... so I apologize for this stupid question.. here it goes.. a little bit ago my LO was playing on the floor and hit herself in the face with her toy. Immediately started screaming and I picked her up to calm her down. She wouldn't calm down until I nursed her. It hadn't been that long since she ate so I don't think it was because she was hungry. Is that normal/ok?
    I'm a homeschooling, , mom!

4/21/04 9lbs1oz FF due to hospital sabotage
    3/16/07 10lbs3oz FF bc of severe weight loss, lack of support
    11/02/10 7lbs14oz BF , supplemented 3oz formula/day for first 3 months due to supply issues. Now she's on all mommy's milk!

Default Re: Is this normal?

Sounds normal to me! Babies crave nursing for the comfort it gives - it's not just food to them, but mama cuddles, like "kissing a booboo."

Ah, yes, if I had a dollar for everytime Joe has done something that, by the basic laws of physics, would clearly result in him hurting himself ... well, I'd have a lot more pocket change. Most recently, it has been "Joe, don't put a paper bag over your head and then walk around! That's not a good idea!"

I think they are still learning those basic laws of physics!

You can call me JoMo!

Mom to baby boy Joe, born 5/4/09 and breastfed for more than two and a half years, and baby girl Maggie, born 7/9/12.

Should I worry about her possibly over-eating? She's been spitting up alot but I'm not sure if that's because of her 2 teeth coming through.
    I'm a homeschooling, , mom!

4/21/04 9lbs1oz FF due to hospital sabotage
    3/16/07 10lbs3oz FF bc of severe weight loss, lack of support
    11/02/10 7lbs14oz BF , supplemented 3oz formula/day for first 3 months due to supply issues. Now she's on all mommy's milk!