Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Planning to pump exclusively

Default Planning to pump exclusively

I want to pump exclusively. I don't feel close to this child (not born yet) and would rather not nurse him. I do want to give him breast milk. Has anyone successfully pumped for a year or so?

Any tips?

Thanks!

Default Re: Planning to pump exclusively

There are several successful exclusive pumpers here. Is this your first child or have you nursed before? EP is exponentially harder than nursing, any chance you'd give nursing a try?

Mommy to Maxwell 10-9-07 weaned with love (a party and a remote control monster truck) on his 4th birthday
    My Boy 3-16-10
    And my sweet pea Sam 2-12-11

Watch Your Language

I've been EPing for 2 months now. I started to EP because DS didn't want to suck long enough to get a substantial amount of milk out. Now that he's bigger and stronger, I'm sure he could do it - but I'm kind of scared of failing again, so I have stuck with the pump. A big part of me wishes that I was just BFing, because pumping is seriously incredibly annoying and difficult. I find it ridicously hard to find the time to pump enough during the day. It seems that every time I sit down to do it, DS cries and needs me. I'm not sure how much longer I'll be able to last. I start back at work next week and I am hoping I'll still find the time. Doing this for a year looks like a very long road! If that is the option you choose, you'll need to be very stubborn and determined to make it happen! The benefits of pumping though is that DH or anyone else can feed DS while I get other things done or run out to the store or take a nap. I do enjoy the bottle for that reason.