Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 11 mos low supply and weight issues (LONG)

Default 11 mos low supply and weight issues (LONG)

My son is 11 months old and started out 9lbs 6oz (90%) and dropped to 7% by 9 months. My Dr. is okay with him dropping on the chart as long as he's still gaining based on his weght (curve upward) rather than "the chart." He had me come back in 6 weeks to check his weight and he lost 7 oz (17lbs 9oz to 17lbs 3oz).

My supply dips really low before and during AF especially the last one (1st back to normal AF) which started the day after his appointment. I pump at work and bf during the day. He was feeding at bfing at 7am, getting two 5oz bottles during the day, bfing @ 4, and 7/8. I used to easily pump 10-12 oz at work. Now I can barely get 8. I don't feel like my supply ever came all the way back up. That and I've been sick with various colds on and off for 2 months (I'm a teacher...)

I'm pumping at night just to get enough (and I hate the pump) to fill his bottles. Dr. has me to upping his bottles to 12oz (2 - 6oz) which makes it difficult to keep up. He says 5oz 5X is not quite enough. I'm taking fenugreek and calcium/magnesium supplements, but don't know if they are really making a big difference.

Pumping at work is difficult and now the stress of not keeping up is starting to get to me. I'm starting to go through our freezer stash. My son likes to play instead of eat. He will let go many times during a feeding to see what's going on and now likes to try to play with my nipples.

He's never had formula, so our Dr. isn't pushing it. We were given 3 weeks to come back for another weight check (1 week left). I think he has gained a 1lb (home baby scale). We've upped his solid intake (babysitter aka Grandma wasn't giving much in the day) added in yogurt. He loves eating foods on his own (broccoli , fruits, chicken, turkey, etc)